The Department’s strategic goals are as follows:


  • Efficient and effective governance and administration of the department
  • Exercise oversight fuction with regards to the South African Police Service and or Metro Police Services in the Eastern Cape
  • Build safer communities through effective partnerships

To reach these goals, the approved Provincial Safety Strategy (PSS), coordinated by a Multi-Sectoral Committee led by the department, supports with the following four outcomes:

  • Building Community Participation in Community Safety, including Public Education, Community Mobilization Rural Safety and Strengthening Families
  • Prevention of Violence, including reduction of Weapons, Making Places Safer, establishment of Community Safety Fora (CSF) and the Promotion of youth crime prevention initiatives
  • Promoting accountability and fighting corruption within all government departments
  • Strengthening the Criminal Justice System, comprising Victim Empowerment, Improved service delivery and Boarder Management


The establishment of Community Safety Forums by municipalities is critical to the achievement of these outcomes as it supports and synchronizes community based safety initiatives to promote the development of safer communities. Safety Audits and Community Safety Plans have to be developed in coordination with all relevant stakeholders.  The department counts with 7 district offices and it is head quarter in Bhisho to serve all 29 local municipalities, 6 district municipalities and the two metros of the province .   

For more information please contact Community Safety, Chief Director: Pumla Nqakula @


Share Button